The University of Mines and Technology (UMaT) started as the Tarkwa Technical Institute (TTI) on 3rd November, 1952 but was officially commissioned by the Government of Ghana, more precisely by His Excellency the Governor of the Gold Coast, Sir Charles Noble Arden Clarke, on 7th October, 1953. In 1961, the Government, upon the advocacy of the Ghana Chamber of Mines, redefined the mission of TTI to incorporate the training of mining technicians and other middle level manpower for the country’s mining and related industries.



The vision of the University is to be a Centre of Excellence in Ghana and Africa for producing world-class professionals in the fields of mining, petroleum, technology and related disciplines.


The mission is to provide higher education in mining, petroleum, technology and related disciplines through effective teaching and learning; to promote knowledge through active research and dissemination of information and to offer professional services through extension activities to the mining and allied industries.

Core Values

The core values of the University are Knowledge, Truth and Excellence.

Guiding Philosophy

The philosophy of UMaT is to guide students to develop their intellectual capabilities and appreciate good social and moral values. The major aim is to produce world-class graduates capable of providing useful professional services.

FACULTIES/SCHOOLS of University of Mines & Technology, UMaT

There are two schools and three faculties at UMaT. These faculties and schools are expanded below;

  • School of Postgraduate Studies

The School of Postgraduate Studies (SPS) runs MSc and MPhil programmes in Geomatic, Geological, Mining, Minerals, Petroleum, Mechanical, Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Mathematics. The School also offers PhD programmes in Geomatic, Geological, Mining, Minerals, Petroleum, Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Mathematics. Special PhD programmes are offered in Environmental and Safety, Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science and Engineering for the purpose of staff development. In addition, the School runs MSc in Engineering Management and Master of Business and Technology Management.

  • School of Railways and Infrastructure Development

UMaT currently offers seven four-year BSc programmes in:

  1. Geomatic Engineering
  2. Geological Engineering
  3. Environmental and Safety Engineering
  4. Mechanical Engineering
  5. Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  6. Computer Science and Engineering
  7. Mathematics

All students offering these programmes as part of their studies, are to take at least two compulsory courses in the following: Introduction to Railways Engineering; Signaling and Telecommunication; Locomotive Engineering; Rail Planning and Operations.

One year weekend Certificate programmes being offered include:

  1. Certificate in Survey and Mapping
  2. Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety
  3. Certificate in Electrical Technology
  4. Certificate in Geotechnical Technology
  5. Certificate in Plant and Maintenance
  6. Certificate in Water Resources
  7. Certificate in Geological Assistantship
  8. Certificate in Environmental Studies
  9. Certificate in Drilling Fluids Technology
  10. Certificate in Oil Well Cementing Technology
  11. Certificate in Natural Gas Technology
  12. Certificate in Reservoir Management
  • Faculty of Mineral Resource Technology

The faculty consists of six (6) Academic Departments which offer the four-year BSc programmes in:

  1. Geomatic Engineering
  2. Geological Engineering
  3. Mining Engineering
  4. Mineral Engineering and
  5. Petroleum Engineering
  6. Environmental and Safety Engineering
  • Faculty of Integrated Management Science

The Faculty consists of two academic departments, namely:

  1. Department of Technical Communication
  2. Department of Management Studies
  • Faculty of Engineering

The Faculty of Engineering (FoE) consists of the following departments:

  1. Departments of Mechanical Engineering
  2. Computer Science and Engineering
  3. Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  4. Mathematics and Renewable Energy Engineering
Price Range

University of Mines & Technology, Tarkwa

Open hours today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Monday

    8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Tuesday

    8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Wednesday

    8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Thursday

    8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Friday

    8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Saturday


  • Sunday


  • 7 February 2023 11:27 am local time

Contact business

    Kindly respond to this short survey on how you use online search... Thank you Click Here to Take Survey
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review